top of page

Museum of Arts and Design invites applications to 2023 Burke Prize


miðvikudagur, 1. febrúar 2023

Museum of Arts and Design invites applications to 2023 Burke Prize

Application period: February 1–April 28, 2023
The Museum of Arts and Design is accepting applications for the 2023 Burke Prize. The Burke Prize is a biannual contemporary art prize for a new generation of artists working in a world of expanded media with a foundation in glass, fiber, clay, metal, or wood. Selected by a diverse and distinguished jury of curators, artists, and scholars through an open-call application process, the Burke Prize winner receives an unrestricted award of 50,000 USD.
One Burke Prize artist will also be selected for the biannual Burke Residency at The Studio of The Corning Museum of Glass. The Burke Residency artist will receive a one-month to five-week residency with all the benefits and opportunities awarded to artists selected for The Studio's Artist-in-Residence program.
Inspired by the disciplines that shaped the American studio craft movement, the Burke Prize is named for Marian and Russell Burke, two longtime supporters of MAD and passionate collectors of craft. Established in 2018, the Burke Prize honors exceptional artists, 45 or under, working in the United States whose highly accomplished work is conceptually rigorous, relevant, and pushes the boundaries of materials and creative processes.
2023 Burke Prize jurors
Camille Ann Brewer, cultural heritage consultant
Garth Johnson, Paul Phillips and Sharon Sullivan Curator of Ceramics, Everson Museum of Art
Charisse Pearlina Weston, 2021 Burke Prize winner
Previous winners
Charisse Pearlina Weston (United States, b. 1988) is a conceptual artist and writer whose practice is grounded in profound material and symbolic investigations of the intimacies and interiors of Black life. She utilizes glass to conceptually embody both the everyday risk of anti-Black violence and the precocity and malleability of Blackness in the face of this violence. Melding glass sculptures and photography with poetic fragments of Black experience, her work examines the interstices of Black interiors and intimacies.
Weston received her MFA from the University of California-Irvine, an MSc from the University of Edinburgh, a BA from the University of North Texas, and completed the Whitney Museum of American Art’s Independent Study Program. Recent exhibitions include solo exhibitions at Abrons Art Center and Recess as well as group shows at the Contemporary Art Museum, Houston, and ArtPace, San Antonio.
Indira Allegra (United States, b. 1980) makes sculptures, performances, texts, and installations that investigate memorial practices and the unseen forces of generational trauma. She uses the ideology and methodology of weaving to explore the repetitive intersections of forces held under tension, be they material, social, or emotional. Allegra holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts, with high distinction, from California College of the Arts, where she studied visual studies, writing, and textile. She also earned an Associate of Applied Science in Sign Language Interpretation from Portland Community College and studied biology at Yale University. She has received the Artadia Award (2018), Tosa Studio Award (2018), Mike Kelley Foundation for the Arts Artist Project Grant (2018), MAP Fund Grant (2018), and Windgate Craft Fellowship (2016), among other accolades.
Cannupa Hanska Luger (United States, b. 1979) is a multidisciplinary artist of Mandan, Hidatsa, Arikara, Lakota, Austrian, and Norwegian descent. Through monumental installations that incorporate ceramics, video, sound, fiber, steel, and cut paper, he interweaves performance and political action to communicate stories about twenty-first-century indigeneity. Using social collaboration in response to timely and site-specific issues, Luger produces multipronged projects that often present a call to action, provoking diverse publics to engage with indigenous peoples and values outside the lens of colonial social structuring. He lectures and participates in residencies around the globe, and his work is collected internationally.
See works from the 2021 Burke Prize finalists here.
Application dates for the 2023 Burke Prize are from February 1 to April 28, 2023. The Burke Prize winner to be announced in fall 2023.
Learn more and apply here.
About the Museum of Arts and Design
The Museum of Arts and Design (MAD) champions contemporary makers across creative fields and presents the work of artists, designers, and artisans who apply the highest level of ingenuity and skill. Since the Museum’s founding in 1956 by philanthropist and visionary Aileen Osborn Webb, MAD has celebrated all facets of making and the creative processes by which materials are transformed, from traditional techniques to cutting-edge technologies. Today, the Museum’s curatorial program builds upon a rich history of exhibitions that emphasize a cross-disciplinary approach to art and design, and reveals the workmanship behind the objects and environments that shape our everyday lives. MAD provides an international platform for practitioners who are influencing the direction of cultural production and driving twenty-first-century innovation, and fosters a participatory setting for visitors to have direct encounters with skilled making and compelling works of art and design. For more information, visit

Bildschirmfoto 2021-05-08 um
Bildschirmfoto 2021-05-08 um
Bildschirmfoto 2021-05-08 um
bottom of page